top of page
lvb-goldenname.jpg

Why must we call God by his personal name?

Before continuing reading, it is important to understand who is ELOHIM, commonly called "God". In Hebrew, the plural of the word EL or ELOAH (God) is ELOHIM (GODS). It is often preceded by the article HA- (HA ELOHIM) to mean "in combination". Thus, ELOHIM refers to a plurality, He is not just God but He is GODS: the Father (YAHWEH), the Son (YESHUA) and the Holy Spirit (RUACH). Because of this association and other reasons, speaking of Him by saying "God" is not the appropriate title. Saying "ELOHIM" is an exact representation of who He is.

It would be appropriate to begin with a brief etymological study to put things in context.


The proto-Hebrew alphabet (ancient Hebrew text) which contains 22* consonants had no written vowels and only a simple sound "ah" which was added to the consonants. It looked like this: kah, yah, dah, hah, wah, and so on. The pronunciation of words was unambiguous. All other sounds appeared later, between the 6th and 10th century after the introduction to the Massoretic vowel system.

The original root of the verb "To be" in proto-Hebrew is Hayah (haw-yaw) or Hawah (the W and Y are often inter-changed in Hebrew). These two words are identical in meaning and usage. They have an imperfect aspect that denotes an unfinished action, a state of being that has no end such as eternity. It can also mean: I was, I am or I will be.

The conjugation of the verbs Hayah and Hawah looks like this:

  • I am: Ah-yah or Ah-hawah

  • You are: Th'yah or T'hawah

  • He is: Y'h-wha or Ya-hawah or Yahua

In Exodus 3:14, God reveals to Moses that his personal name is "I AM" or  "I AM WHO I AM". Translated from Proto-Hebrew:   Ahyah or Ahyah Ashr Ahyah 

  • Exodus 3:14 "God said to Moses, I am he who am . And he added: This is how you will answer the children of Israel, He who is called 'I am' sent me to you. "

But if God said His name is AHYAH (I AM) , why then the tetragrammaton YHWH (HE IS)?

We have read the verse 14 above, but if you carefully read verse 15 you will realize that God presented Himself to Israel using the 3rd person.

  • Exodus 3:15 "God said again to Moses, Thus shall you speak to the children of Israel: The Lord, the God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, has sent me. to you. This is my name forever, and this is my name to generation. "

To help you discern this, let simplify God's statements. He asks Moses to say this: "The Being who is the God of your fathers hath sent me to you. He is the Lord of the 3 patriarchs (Abraham, Isaac and Jacob), This is his name for ever, and this is his memorial to all generations.." 

Here it is important to discern that God declared He is "I AM" but when we refer to Him, we will have to say "HE IS" because it is necessary that whoever draws near ELOHIM believes that He is and exists.

  • Hebrews 11: 6 "And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists"

The fact that YAHWEH asks us to call him in the 3rd person is consistent because the number 3, which represents wholeness or completion, is an immutable element to the nature of ELOHIM.

Why is it important to know the name of The Father?

For many people knowing the name of God the Father is not that important because they believe He can read our hearts and He knows that our prayers are directed to Him. Certainly, the Father knows it, but it is important to know His personal name for the following reasons:

 

Reason 1

  • "Proverbs 18:10 "The name of the Lord is a strong tower""

 

There are several implications that bear witness to the importance of the name YAHWEH (HE IS)

  1. The name YAHWEH testifies the most important truth about God: He exists

  2. The name YAHWEH testifies that there is no reality beyond Him, He is not controlled by any force outside Himself. His character and power are derived solely from himself and no one else.  

  3. The name YAHWEH testifies that He is an objective reality which surpasses our own subjective perceptions or desires. We can desire God to be a certain way or think whatever we want to think about Him but our opinion of Him does not change who He is.  

  4. The name YAHWEH testifies He is unchanging. He's not subject to change as we are.

  5. The name YAHWEH testifies we are to be conformed to God, not him to us, for he alone is and there is no us without him. Through him we have life, mobility, and existence (Acts 17:28) .

Lvb-skeletonman.jpg

 

Reason 2

In the Hebrew Bible, the original theophoric names of the prophets and patriarchs are composed with the abbreviated form of the Father's name Yahua and give a clue to an attribute of ELOHIM that "testifies" who He is.

  • Numbers 6:27 "This is how they will put my name on the children of Israel, and I will bless them."

 

Here are some examples:

Judah ( YAHUdah): The disciples of YAHUAH;

Jesus ( YAHUshua): YAHUAH is salvation;

Jacob ( YAHqob): YAHUAH succeeds;

Isaac ( YAHsaac): YAHUAH laughs;

Jehoshaphat ( YAHUshaphat): YAHUAH is the judge;

Elie (EliYAHU): My God is YAHUAH;

Isaiah ( YeshaYAHU): Salvation is YAHUAH;

Jeremiah ( YirmeYAHU): The resurrection is YAHUAH;

John ( YAHUchanon ): YAHUAH is Grace;

Matthew ( MatithYAHU): The gift is YAHUAH;

Zachariah ( ZacharYAHU): YAHUAH remembers;

Job ( YAHshub): YAHUAH will return;

Daniel ( DaniYAHel): The decision is YAHUAH;

Joel: (YAHel)YAHUA is God, etc.

Reason 3

The Bible warns us there are entities in our world that are also called "god" (with a small "d"). 

  • 1 Corinthians 8: 5 "For if there are any beings which are called gods, either in heaven or on earth, as there really are many gods and many lords."

  • 2 Corinthians 4: 4 " for those unbelievers whose minds the god of this age have blinded, that they may not see the splendor of the gospel of the glory of Christ, which is the image of God, shining forth."

 

Knowing other gods are present in our world, if you enter a place of worship where the preacher speaks of "God" without ever stating His personal name, what proves the audience they are indeed being told about the Supreme God of the universe?

  • Isaiah 26:13 LORD our God, other lords besides you have ruled over us; but by you alone we will mention your name. "

When YESHUA said, "Before Abraham was, "I AM" He took back the irrefutable truth of ELOHIM’s existence, He testified that The Supreme God revealed Himself to us so that we can see His majestic glory.

As such, when in our places of worship we call him by his name "YAHWEH" and not just "God", we testify to all that He is.

  • Isaiah 52: 6 " Therefore my people shall know my name"

sacredname.jpg
4120773_orig.png

Where does the name Jehovah come from?

Devilplaybook-PixTeller (3).png

 

The Name Jehovah: How It All Began ...

Before Jesus

In the year 957: Solomon built the first temple in Jerusalem.

  • 1 Kings 6:1 "in the fourth year of Solomon’s reign over Israel, in the month of Ziv, which is the second month, he began to build the house of the LORD."

 

In the year 586: The temple is destroyed by Nebuchadnezzar, king of Babylon. The law as well as the Writings and Manuscripts are burnt.

  • Jeremiah 52:12-13 "On the tenth day of the fifth month, in the nineteenth year of Nebuchadnezzar’s reign over Babylon, Nebuzaradan captain of the guard, a servant of the king of Babylon, entered Jerusalem. He burned down the house of the LORD, the royal palace, and all the houses of Jerusalem—every significant building."

 

In the year 515: Cyrus king of Babylon, orders the construction of the second temple.

  • Ezra 6: 3 "In the first year of King Cyrus, he issued a decree concerning the house of God in Jerusalem: Let the house be rebuilt as a place for offering sacrifices, and let its foundations be firmly laid. It is to be sixty cubits high and sixty cubits wide"

 

By divine inspiration the prophet Esdras restores the law, 94 books were dictated to the scribes in 40 days; 24 books for the general public and the remaining 70 for the wise only.

  • 2 Ezra 14: 42-47 "Further, the Most High gave understanding to the five men, and in turn they wrote down what was dictated, using characters they did not know. They sat for forty days; they wrote during the day and ate their bread at night. But I spoke during the day and during the night I was not silent. Thus, during the forty days, 94 books were written. At the end of the forty days, the Most High said to me, Make known the first twenty-four books which you wrote, and let him that is worthy and he that is not worthy read them; but keep the seventy that were written last, in order to give them to the wise people of the people. For in them is the source of intelligence, the source of wisdom and the river of knowledge. - From the Second Book of Ezra

 

Between the year 250 - 150: Greek was the common language in the Roman Empire. Many Jews emigrating from Israel, were growing up learning and speaking Greek, not ancient Hebrew. Over time the Hebrew Bible became unreadable to many Jewish emigrants. And since the Law was very important to the Jewish people, the Hebrew Bible (Tanakh) was translated into Greek. This Greek translation is called Septuagint because 70 or 72 Jewish scholars participated in the translation process. The tetragrammaton YHWH was inscribed in the Septuagint, whereas the name "Jehovah" was not written in the Septuagint or in the original Hebrew manuscripts.

 

After Jesus

In the year 70: The first Jewish-Roman war broke out. The second temple was destroyed and all the Hebrew manuscripts restored by the prophet Ezra were also destroyed. Only the Septuagint remained and became the main basis for translations of the Old Testament.

Between the year 170 - 400: They begin to list the teachings of Jesus in the first Greek collection of the New Testament books called The Fragment or Canon of Muratori, but the name "Jehovah" was not mentioned. During this same period, the tetragrammaton YHWH is removed from The Septuagint and replaced with the designations Kyʹri-os (Lord) and The-osʹ (God).

Between the year 501 - 1000: The Masoretes, a group of Jewish scholars determined to restore the original Tanakh  
composed the Masoretic text based on the meticulously preserved oral tradition and the best available manuscripts of the original Hebrew texts. To help readers understand the text, they introduced punctuation marks and additional letters to the proto-Hebrew. However, out of superstition the Masoretes did not dare to pronounce the name YHWH; instead, they called him Adonai (Lord). Thus, in their Masoretic text, they replace the tetragrammaton YHWH by Yehowah translated into English as Jehovah. They obtained that name by adding the vowels of the name Adonai
(' e D o N a Y in Hebrew) to the unpronounceable name YHWH which gave Y e H o W a h.

In the year 1385: They begin to translate the Muratori Canon into Hebrew versions called the Versions and numbered J1 to J27. In these J versions, the tetragrammaton YHWH is replaced by "Jehovah" except for the J7 version which quotes the name YHWH in reference to Jesus. We have the example of Acts 9:5 which reads:  “Who are you, YHWH?” Saul asked. “I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting” he replied.

 

In the year 1599: Elias Hutter, a professor of Hebrew at the University of Leipzigre, re-translated the J7 version of the New Testament. His edition was titled Derekh ha-Kodesh, taken from Isaiah 35:8 and meaning "The Way of Holiness". In his edition, he replaced the tetragrammaton YHWH by "Lord". In this new version, Acts 9:5 (in example) was translated as follows: "Who are you Lord? And the Lord said, I am Iefus, which you perfecute", note how their style of writing was different from ours.  

Hutter's Polyglot was published in Nuremberg in 12 languages. You can read it by clicking on the link: http://www.bibles-online.net/hutter/

In the year 1611: The King James Bible is published. It followed the same model as the polyglot of Hutter by quoting "Lord" in reference to YAHWEH. However, King James also included the name Jehovah in 7 verses:

  • Genesis 22:14 "And Abraham called the name of that place Jehovahjireh: as it is said to this day, In the mount of the LORD it shall be seen."

  • Exodus 6:3 "And I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, by the name of God Almighty, but by my name JEHOVAH was I not known to them."

  • Exodus 17:15 "And Moses built an altar, and called the name of it Jehovahnissi"

  • Judges 6:24 "Then Gideon built an altar there unto the LORD, and called it Jehovahshalom: unto this day it is yet in Ophrah of the Abiezrites"

  • Psalms 83:18 "That men may know that thou, whose name alone is JEHOVAH, art the most high over all the earth.".

  • Isaiah 12:2 "Trust ye in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD JEHOVAH is everlasting strength".

  • Isaiah 26:4 "Trust you in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD JEHOVAH is everlasting strength"

Note that Exodus 6:3 seems to confirm that the name Jehovah was never mentioned in the Tanakh, because the Patriarchs Abraham, Isaac and Jacob did not know it. 

  • Exodus 6:3 "And I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, by the name of God Almighty, but by my name JEHOVAH was I not known to them." - King James 1611 version

 

In the year 1871: The Louis Segond Bible is published. The names Jehovah are removed and replaced by “The Lord”. Except in Genesis 22:14

Interesting fact about the transliteration of the name Jehovah into Hebrew

According to Strong's Hebrew dictionary, the transliteration into Hebrew of the name Jehovah (Yah-hovah) has a rather interesting meaning. 

Thus the name Yah-hovah (Jehovah) translates into Hebrew "God of wickedness"

Interestingly, Jesus had prophesied that the name of the Father would not be accepted, but rather that of another.

  • John 5:43 "I have come in My Father’s name, and you have not received Me; but if someone else comes in his own name, you will receive him."

You be the judge and may the Holy Spirit guide you in understanding this message.

4120773_orig.png

 

Concerning Charles Taze Russell, founder of the organization "Jehovah's Witnesses

Charles Taze Russell, known as "Pastor" Russell, was the founding father of this organization in 1872. He was born on February 16, 1852 in Pittsburgh (Pennsylvania, USA) and died on October 31, 1916 in Pampa (Texas). He founded the Watch Tower Bible and Tract Society and the International Bible Students Association, the organization that is now known as Jehovah's Witnesses after various split-ups and divisions. At his death he was buried in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in what is now (after several changes of ownership) the United Cemeteries of Rosemont, Mt. Hope and Evergreen United Cemeteries in Ross Township.

The front of his headstone features a picture of the pastor and an inscription identifying Pastor Russell as the messenger of the Laodiceans, or "the angel of the church of the Laodiceans." In Revelation 3:14-22, YESHUA refers to this church as "lukewarm.  He particularly despises lukewarm Christians whom He describes as: "wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked". 

  • Revelations 3:15-17 "I know your deeds; you are neither cold nor hot. How I wish you were one or the other! So because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to vomit you out of My mouth!You say, ‘I am rich; I have grown wealthy and need nothing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind, and naked."

 

If you stand at the back of his tombstone, it faces a pyramid memorial with the Watch Tower Bible and Tract Society inscribed below the emblem of the Knights Templar and the Freemasons.

Emblem of the Knights Templar

Philadelphia Masonic Lodge. Note the emblem of the Knights Templar on the ceiling

Although there were many rumors that Russell was a 33rd degree Freemason, he never admitted to belonging to Freemasonry, oddly enough he made the following statement in a speech at a Masonic hall in San Francisco in 1913: "Now, I am a free and accepted mason. I trust we all are. But not just after the style of our masonic brethren." |"The Temple of God" Souvenir Notes, Bible Students' Conventions, 1913. Chicago: Dr. Leslie W. Jones, 1913. p. 284.| 

Further more, in a document titled 'Pastor's Russell's Convention Dicourses', that is a collection of sermons, testimony meetings and special services by pastor Charles T. Russell, on page 914 he admits to being part of the Knights Templar order.

While claiming to be a Christian and, Russell denied many key Christian doctrines including eternal punishment, the Trinity, the deity of Christ, and the existence of the Holy Spirit.

  • He refuted the existence of hell as a place where the wicked face God’s wrath.

  • He held that the soul simply ceases to exist after death.

  • He held that Jesus was a created being, and was actually Michael the Archangel in human form. 

  • He denied the divinity of Jesus and taught that Jesus died on behalf of humanity, but He rose only spiritually rather than physically. 

  • He denied the existence of the Holy Spirit, teaching that the Spirit is not a person, but simply a name given to express an impersonal force of God’s power. In denying the divinity of Jesus and the existence of the Holy Spirit, he inevitably denied the Trinity

 

May the Holy Spirit guide you in the understanding of this message.

bottom of page

top of page
lvb-goldenname.jpg

Pourquoi devons-nous appeler Dieu par son nom personnel?

Avant de continuer la lecture, il est important de comprendre qui est ELOHIM communément appelé "Dieu". En hébreux, le pluriel du mot EL ou ELOAH (Dieu) est ELOHIM (DIEUX). Il est souvent accompagné de l'article HA- (HA ELOHIM) pour signifier "en combinaison". Ainsi, ELOHIM fait référence à une pluralité, Il n'est pas juste Dieu mais Il est DIEUX: le Père (YAHWEH), le Fils (YESHUA) et le Saint-Esprit (RUACH). À cause de cela et d'autres raisons, parler de Lui en disant "Dieu" n'est pas le titre approprié. Dire "ELOHIM" est une représentation exacte de qui Il est.

Il serait pertinent de commencer par une brève étude étymologique pour remettre les choses dans leur contexte.

L'alphabet proto-Hébreu (ancien texte Hébreu) qui contient 22* consonnes n’avait pas de voyelles écrites et n’avait qu’un son simple "ah" qu’on ajoutait aux consonnes. Ça ressemblait à ceci: kah, yah, dah, hah, wah, et ainsi de suite. La prononciation des mots était sans ambiguïté. Tous les autres sons sont apparus plus tard, entre le 6ième et 10ième siècle après l’introduction au système de voyelle massorétique. 

La racine primitive du verbe "Être" en proto-Hébreu est Hayah (haw-yaw) ou Hawah (le W et le Y sont souvent inter-changé en Hébreu). Ces deux mots sont identiques dans le sens et l’usage. Ils ont un aspect imperfectif qui dénote une action inachevée, un état d’être qui n’a pas de fin: l'éternité. Ça peut en même temps signifier: j’étais, je suis ou je serai.

La conjugaison des verbes Hayah et Hawah ressemble à ceci :

  • Je suis: Ah-yah ou Ah-hawah 

  • Tu es: Th'yah ou T'hawah 

  • Il est: Y'h-wha ou Ya-hawah ou encore Yahua

Dans Exode 3:14, ELOHIM dévoile à Moïse que son nom personnel est "JE SUIS" ou "JE SUIS CELUI QUI SUIS". Traduit du proto-Hebreu: Ahyah ou Ahyah Ashr Ahyah. 

  • Exode 3:14 "Dieu dit à Moïse: Je suis celui qui suis. Et il ajouta: C'est ainsi que tu répondras aux enfants d'Israël: Celui qui s'appelle 'je suis' m'a envoyé vers vous."

Mais si ELOHIM a dit qu'Il s'appelle AHYAH (Je suis), pourquoi alors le tetragrammaton YHWH (IL EST)?

Si vous lisez attentivement le verset 14 et 15 vous vous rendrez compte que ELOHIM s'est présenté à Israël en utilisant la 3ème personne.

  • Exode 3:14-15 "Dieu dit à Moïse: Je suis celui qui suis. Et il ajouta: C'est ainsi que tu répondras aux enfants d'Israël: Celui qui s'appelle 'je suis' m'a envoyé vers vous. Dieu dit encore à Moïse: Tu parleras ainsi aux enfants d'Israël: L'Éternel, le Dieu de vos pères, le Dieu d'Abraham, le Dieu d'Isaac et le Dieu de Jacob, m'envoie vers vous. Voilà mon nom pour l'éternité, voilà mon nom de génération en génération."

Pour vous aider à discerner cela, simplifions les déclarations de ELOHIM. Il demande à Moise de dire ceci:  "l’Être qui est 'Je Suis' m’a envoyé à vous. Il est l’Éternel des 3 patriarches (Abraham, Isaac et Jacob), Ceci est son nom pour toujours, et ceci est son mémorial à toutes les générations" 

ELOHIM déclarait qu'Il est "JE SUIS" mais quand nous nous référons à Lui, nous devront dire "IL EST" car il faut que celui qui s'approche de ELOHIM croit qu'IL existe. 

  • Hébreux 11:6 "Car il faut que celui qui s'approche de Dieu croie que Dieu existe"

Le fait que ELOHIM nous demande de l'appeler à la 3ème personne est consistent car le 3,  qui représente la complétude ou l'achèvement, est un élément immuable à la nature de ELOHIM

Pourquoi est-il important de connaître le nom du Père?

Pour plusieurs connaitre le nom de Dieu le Père ne relève d'aucune importance car Il peut lire nos cœurs et Il sait que nos prières sont dirigées vers Lui. Certes, le Père le sait mais il est important de connaitre son nom personnel pour les raisons suivantes:

 

Raison 1

  •  Proverbes 18:10 "Le nom de l'Éternel est une tour forte"

Il y a plusieurs implications qui témoignent l'importance du nom YAHWEH (IL EST)

  1. Le nom YAHWEH témoigne la plus importante vérité sur Dieu: Il existe 

  2. Le nom YAHWEH témoigne qu'aucune réalité n'existe au delà de lui, Il n'est dirigé par aucune force en dehors de lui-même. Sa personnalité et son pouvoir ne sont dus qu'à lui-même et à personne d'autre. 

  3. Le nom YAHWEH témoigne qu'Il est une vérité objective qui dépasse nos propres sentiments ou désirs subjectifs. Nous pouvons désirer que Dieu soit d'une certaine manière ou penser tout ce que nous voulons penser sur lui mais notre opinion de lui ne change en rien qui Il est. 

  4. Le nom YAHWEH témoigne qu'Il est immuable. Il n'est donc pas sujet aux changements tel que nous le sommes.

  5. Le nom YAHWEH témoigne que nous devons nous conformer à Dieu, et non lui à nous car lui seul est et il n'y a pas de nous sans lui. En lui, nous avons la vie, le mouvement, et l'être (Actes 17:28).

Lvb-skeletonman.jpg

 

 

Raison 2

Dans la Bible hébraïque, les noms originels théophores des prophètes et patriarches sont composés avec la forme abrégée du nom du Père Yahua et donnent un indice sur un attribut de ELOHIM qui "témoigne" qui Il est.

  • Nombres 6:27 "C'est ainsi qu'ils mettront mon nom sur les enfants d'Israël, et je les bénirai."

 

Voici quelques examples:

Juda (YAHUdah): Les disciples de YAHUAH; 

Jésus (YAHUshua): YAHUAH est le salut; 

Jacob (YAHqob): YAHUAH réussit; 

Isaac (YAHsaac): YAHUAH rit; 

Josaphat (YAHUshaphat): YAHUAH est le juge; 

Elie (EliYAHU): Mon Dieu est YAHUAH;

Esaie (YeshaYAHU): Le salut est YAHUAH; 

Jérémie (YirmeYAHU): La résurrection  est YAHUAH; 

Jean (YAHUchanon): YAHUAH est Grace; 

Matthieu (MatithYAHU): Le cadeau est YAHUAH; 

Zacharie (ZacharYAHU): YAHUAH se souvient; 

Job (YAHshub): YAHUAH reviendra; 

Daniel (DaniYAHel): La décision est de YAHUAH;

Joel: (YAHel): YAHUA est Dieu,  etc.

Raison 3

la Bible nous prévient qu'il existe des entités dans notre monde qui ont eux aussi le titre de "dieu" (avec petit "d"). 

  • 1 Corinthiens 8:5 "Car, s'il est des êtres qui sont appelés dieux, soit dans le ciel, soit sur la terre, comme il existe réellement plusieurs dieux et plusieurs seigneurs."

  • 2 Corinthiens 4:4 "pour les incrédules dont le dieu de ce siècle a aveuglé l'intelligence, afin qu'ils ne vissent pas briller la splendeur de l'Évangile de la gloire de Christ, qui est l'image de Dieu."

Sachant que d'autres dieux existent, si vous entrez dans un lieu de culte où le prédicateur parle de "Dieu" sans jamais prononcer Son nom personnel, qu'est ce qui prouve à l'auditoire qu'on leur parle bel et bien du Dieu Suprême de l'univers?

  • Ésaïe 26: 13 SEIGNEUR notre Dieu, d'autres seigneurs en dehors de toi ont dominé sur nous ; mais par toi seul nous ferons mention de ton nom."

Quand YESHUA a dit: "Avant qu'Abraham fût, JE SUIS", Il a repris toute la vérité de l'existence de YAHWEH, Il a témoigné que Le Dieu Suprême s'est révélé à nous pour nous permettre de voir sa gloire majestueuse.

  • Ésaïe 52:6 "C'est pourquoi mon peuple connaîtra mon nom"

Ainsi lorsque dans nos lieux de culte nous l'appelons par son nom "YAHWEH" et pas juste "Dieu", nous témoignons de tout ce qu'Il est. 

sacredname.jpg
4120773_orig.png

D’où provient le nom Jéhovah ?

Devilplaybook-PixTeller (3).png

 

Le nom Jéhovah: Comment tout a commencé...

Avant Jésus

En l'an 957: Salomon construit le premier temple à Jérusalem.

  • 1 Rois 6: 1 "Salomon bâtit la maison à l'Éternel, la quatrième année de son règne sur Israël, au mois de Ziv, qui est le second mois."

 

En l'an 586: le temple est détruit par Nabuchodonosor, roi de Babylone. La loi ainsi que les Écrits et Manuscrits sont brûlés.

  • Jérémie 52:12-13 "Le dixième jour du cinquième mois, -c'était la dix-neuvième année du règne de Nebucadnetsar, roi de Babylone, -Nebuzaradan, chef des gardes, au service du roi de Babylone, vint à Jérusalem. Il brûla la maison de l'Éternel, la maison du roi, et toutes les maisons de Jérusalem; il livra au feu toutes les maisons de quelque importance."

 

En l'an 515: Cyrus roi de Babylone, ordonne la construction du deuxième temple.

  • Esdras 6:3 "La première année du roi Cyrus, le roi Cyrus a donné cet ordre au sujet de la maison de Dieu à Jérusalem: Que la maison soit rebâtie, pour être un lieu où l'on offre des sacrifices, et qu'elle ait des solides fondements. Elle aura soixante coudées de hauteur, soixante coudées de largeur"

 

Par inspiration divine le prophète Esdras restaure la loi, 94 livres furent dictés aux scribes en 40 jours; 24 livres pour la diffusion générale et le reste des 70 pour les sages seulement.​ 

  • 2 Esdras 14:42-47 "De plus, le Très Haut donna la compréhension aux cinq hommes et, tour à tour, ils écrivirent ce qui était dicté, en utilisant des caractères qu’ils ne connaissaient pas. Ils restèrent assis quarante jours; ils écrivaient pendant le jour et mangeaient leur pain la nuit. Mais moi, je parlais le jour et pendant la nuit je ne me taisais pas. Ainsi, pendant les quarante jours, 94 livres furent écrits. À la fin des quarante jours, le Très-Haut me dit: fais connaître les vingt-quatre premiers livres que tu as écrits, et laisse celui qui en est digne comme celui qui n'en est pas digne les lire; Mais garde les soixante-dix qui ont été écrits en dernier, afin de les donner aux sages du peuple. Car en eux se trouvent la source de l'intelligence, la source de la sagesse et le fleuve de la connaissance. - Tiré du deuxième Livre d'Esdras - https://www.lesversetsbibliques.com/le-livre-d-ezra-esdras-2


Entre l'an 250 - 150:  Le grec est la langue commune de l'Empire romaine. De nombreux Juifs émigrent loin d'Israël, et grandissent en apprenant et en parlant le grec, et non l'ancien hébreu. Au fil du temps la Bible hébraïque appellée Tanakh devient illisible pour plusieurs juifs émigrés. Vu que la Loi est très importante pour le peuple juif, la Bible hébraïque (Tanakh), est traduite en langue grecque. Cette version grecque de la Tanakh est appelée Septante parce que 70 ou 72 érudits juifs participèrent au processus de traduction. 

Le tetragrammaton YHWH y est inscrit tandis que le nom "Jéhovah" ne figure ni dans la Tanakh, ni dans la Septante ni dans aucun des manuscrits hébraïques originaux.

 

Après Jésus

En l'an 70: La première guerre judéo-romaine éclate. Le deuxième temple est détruit et tous les manuscrits hébraïques restaurés par le prophète Esdras sont aussi détruits. Il ne reste que les Écritures grecques (La Septante) qui devient la base principale des traductions de l'Ancien Testament.

Entre l'an 170 - 400: On commence à répertorier La vie et les enseignements de Jésus dans le plus ancien recueil grec des livres du Nouveau Testament appelé Le fragment ou canon de Muratori, le nom "Jéhovah" n'y est pas mentionné. Durant cette même période, le tetragrammaton YHWH est retiré de La Septante et remplacé par les désignations Kyʹri·os (Seigneur) et The·osʹ (Dieu).

 

Entre l'an 501 - 1000: Les Massorètes, un groupe de scribes-savants juifs déterminés à restaurer l'original de la Tanakh,  

composent le texte masorétique en se basant sur la tradition orale méticuleusement préservée et les meilleurs manuscrits disponibles des textes hébreux originaux. Afin d'aider les lecteurs à comprendre le texte, ils introduisent  des signes de ponctuation et des lettres supplémentaires au proto-hébreu. Cependant, les Massorètes n'osaient pas prononcer le nom YHWH; par superstition ils l'appelaient plutôt Edonay (Adonaï) qui signifie Seigneur. Par la suite, dans leur texte masorétique, ils remplacèrent le tetragrammaton YHWH par YEHOWAH traduit en français Jéhovah. Ils ont obtenu ce nom en ajoutant les voyelles du nom Adonaï (eDoNaY en hébreu) au nom imprononçable YHWH ce qui donna YeHoWaH.

En l'an 1385: On commence à traduire le Canon de Muratori dans des versions hébraïques appelées les Versions J et numérotées J1 à J27. Dans les versions J, le tetragrammaton YHWH est remplacé par "Jehovah" sauf la version J7 dans laquelle le tetragrammaton YHWH est cité en référence à Jésus. On peut par exemple lire dans Actes 9:5: "Qui es-tu, YHWH?", A demandé Saul." Je suis Jésus, que vous persécutez "a t-il répondu".

 

En l'an 1599: Elias Hutter, un professeur d'hébreu à l'Université de Leipzigre, re-traduit la version J7 du Nouveau Testament. 

Son édition était intitulée Derekh ha-Kodesh, tirée d'Esaïe 35:8 et signifiant "La Voie de la Sainteté". Dans cette nouvelle edition du Nouveau Testament, il remplace le tetragrammaton YHWH par "Seigneur". Dans cette version, Actes 9:5 par exemple est traduit comme suit: "Qui es-tu Seigneur? Et le Seigneur dit, Ie suis Iefus, lequel tu perfecutes"notez que leur style d'écriture était différente à la notre. 

Le Polyglotte de Hutter fut publié à Nuremberg en 12 langues. Vous pouvez lire le Polyglotte de Hutter en cliquant sur le lien: http://www.bibles-online.net/hutter/ 

 

En l'an 1611: La Bible King James (Bible du roi Jacques) est publiée. Elle suit le modèle du polyglotte de Hutter c'est a dire le tetragrammaton YHWH n'y figure mais est remplacé par "Seigneur" en référence à YAHWEH. Par contre King James ajoute le nom Jéhovah dans 7 versets:

  • Genèse 22:14 "Et Abraham appela le nom de ce lieu, Jehovahjireh, comme on dit aujourd’hui : Sur le mont du SEIGNEUR ce sera vu."

  • Exode 6:3 "Et je suis apparu à Abraham, à Isaac, et à Jacob, par le nom du Dieu Tout-puissant; mais par mon nom JEHOVAH je n’ai pas été connu d’eux."

  • Exode 17:15 "Et Moïse bâtit un autel et appela son nom Jehovahnissi."

  • Juges 6:24 "Et Gideon (Gédéon) bâtit là un autel au SEIGNEUR, et l’appela Jehovahshalom jusqu'à ce jour il est encore à Ophrah des Abiezrites."

  • Psaumes 83:18 "Afin que les hommes puissent savoir que toi seul, dont le nom est JEHOVAH, es le plus haut sur toute la terre."

  • Esaïe 12:2 "Voici, Dieu est mon salut ; j'aurai confiance, et je n'aurai pas peur; Car le SEIGNEUR, JEHOVAH est ma vigueur et mon cantique, et il est aussi devenu mon salut."

  • Esaïe 26:4 "Confiez-vous dans le SEIGNEUR, pour toujours; car dans le SEIGNEUR JEHOVAH est vigueur éternelle."

 

Remarquez que Exode 6:3 semble confirmer que le nom Jéhovah n'a jamais été mentionné dans la Tanakh, car les Patriarches Abraham, Isaac et Jacob ne le connaissent pas. 

  • Exode 6:3 Et je suis apparu à Abraham, à Isaac, et à Jacob, par le nom du Dieu Tout-puissant; mais par mon nom JEHOVAH je n’ai pas été connu d’eux. - Version King James 1611

En l'an 1871: La Bible de Louis Segond est publiée. les noms Jéhovah et Seigneur sont retirés et remplacés par “L'Éternel”. Sauf dans Genèse 22:14

Fait intéressant concernant la translittération du nom Jéhovah en hébreux

 

Selon le dictionnaire hébreu de Strong, la translittération en hébreux du nom Jéhovah (Yah-hovah) a une signification assez particulière.

Ainsi le nom Yah-hovah (Jéhovah) se traduit en hébreu "Dieu de méchanceté"

De façon intéressante Jésus avait prophetisé que le nom du Père ne sera pas accepté mais on acceptera plutôt le nom d'un autre.

  • Jean 5:43 Je suis venu au nom de mon Père, et vous ne me recevez pas; si un autre vient en son propre nom, vous le recevrez.

Á vous de juger et que le Saint Esprit vous guide dans la compréhension de ce message.

Concernant Charles Taze Russell, fondateur de l'organisation  "Les Témoins de Jéhovah"

Charles Taze Russell, connu sous le nom de "Pasteur" Russell, est le père fondateur de cette organisation en 1872. Il naquit le 16 février 1852 à Pittsburgh (Pennsylvanie, États-Unis) et décéda le 31 octobre 1916 à Pampa (Texas). Il créa la Watch Tower Bible and Tract Society et l'International Bible Students Association, l'organisation qui, après divers déchirements et séparations, est désormais connue sous le nom de Témoins de Jéhovah. A sa mort, il fut enterré à Pittsburgh, en Pennsylvanie, dans ce qui est aujourd'hui (après plusieurs changements de propriétaires) les cimetières unis de Rosemont, Mt. Hope et Evergreen dans le canton de Ross.

 

L'avant de sa pierre tombale comporte une photo du pasteur et l'inscription identifiant le pasteur Russell comme le messager des Laodicéens, ou "l'ange de l'église des Laodicéens". Dans Apocalypse 3:14-22, YESHUA fait référence à cette église et la qualifie de "tiède".  Il a particulièrement horreur des chrétiens tièdes qu'Il décrit comme: "lamentable, misérable, pauvre, aveugle et nu". 

  • Apocalypse 3:15-17 "Puisses-tu être froid ou bouillant! Ainsi, parce que tu es tiède, et que tu n'es ni froid ni bouillant, je te vomirai de ma bouche. Parce que tu dis: Je suis riche, je me suis enrichi, et je n'ai besoin de rien, et parce que tu ne sais pas que tu es malheureux, misérable, pauvre, aveugle et

 

Si vous vous tenez à l'arrière de sa pierre tombale, elle fait face à un mémorial pyramidal sur lequel est inscrit Watch Tower Bible and Tract Society en dessous de l'emblème des Chevaliers des Templiers et des Franc-maçons.

Loge maçonnique de Philadelphie. Remarquez l'emblème des Chevaliers des Templiers au plafond

Emblème des Chevaliers des Templiers

Bien qu'il y ait eu de nombreuses rumeurs disant que Russell était un franc-maçon du 33e degré, il n'a jamais reconnu appartenir à la franc-maçonnerie, curieusement il a fait la déclaration suivante dans un discours prononcé dans une salle maçonnique de San Francisco en 1913: "Maintenant, je suis un maçon libre et accepté. Je pense que nous le sommes tous. Mais pas seulement selon le style de nos frères maçons" |"The Temple of God" Souvenir Notes, Bible Students' Conventions, 1913. Chicago: Dr. Leslie W. Jones, 1913. p. 284.| 

De plus, dans un document intitulé 'Pastor's Russell's Convention Dicourses', qui est une collection de sermons, de réunions de témoignages et de services spéciaux par le pasteur Charles T. Russell, à la page 914 il admet appartenir à l'ordre des Chevaliers des Templiers.

Tout en se prétendant chrétien, Russell a nié de nombreuses doctrines chrétiennes essentielles, notamment le châtiment éternel, la Trinité, la déité du Christ et l'existence du Saint-Esprit.

  • Il a réfuté l'existence de l'enfer comme lieu où les méchants font face à la colère de Dieu.

  • Il soutenait également que l'âme cesse tout simplement d'exister après la mort.

  • Il soutenait que Jésus était un être créé, et qu'il était en fait Michel l'Archange sous forme humaine. 

  • Il niait la divinité de Jésus et enseignait que Jésus était mort au nom de l'humanité, mais qu'il n'était ressuscité que spirituellement et non physiquement. 

  • Il niait l'existence du Saint-Esprit, enseignant que l'Esprit n'est pas une personne, mais simplement un nom donné pour exprimer une force impersonnelle de la puissance de Dieu. En niant la divinité de Jésus et l'existence du Saint-Esprit, il a inévitablement nié la Trinité.

 

Que le Saint-Esprit vous guide dans la compréhension de ce message. 
 

bottom of page